Drawing with stitches

May 25, 2010

So I’m working on my major project for this semester, due on 22 June 2010. My inspiration comes from the Mexican Day of the Dead…or el Día de los Muertos. My strength doesn’t lie in knit, and I find digital print can look a bit too 2-dimensional so I’ve been experimenting with macramé and freehand machine embroidery. Here’s a bit of what I was doing at 7.30 this morning:

Embroidered skull & flowers by Jessica Soon

The freehand technique was a revelation to me – simple yet so effective plus it doesn’t look too machinated or stylised. You can really focus on the lines and it still has that hand-crafted element to it. The threads I’ve used are just polyester embroidery threads from Spotlight…the La Sarta brand has 3 spools (from the same colourway) in a box for $3.50 – great deal!

Anyway time to work on my laser cutting files, more updates on my work coming soon!


Leave a Reply

